June 10, 2013 James Revillini

This item was published more than 1 year ago. For a current list of press releases, visit News Archives .

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Tunxis Community College in Farmington announced the names of those students who accepted membership in the honor society. They were formally recognized during a spring induction ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is recognized by the American Association of Community and Junior Colleges as the official honor fraternity of two-year colleges. To achieve eligibility for PTK, a student must complete at least 12 hours of associate’s degree course work and earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Throughout their enrollment, they must maintain high academic standing, generally a 3.25 GPA. About 100,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa each year.

The PTK chapter at Tunxis provides opportunities for leadership, college and community service, exchange of ideas and ideals, scholarly fellowship, and academic excellence.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters in each of the 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates and Palau.

The new members of PTK, listed by towns of residence are:


Kristen Bergman-Flores

Karoline DeChamps

Isabel Koepke

Olivia Mayo


Matthew Kordek

Ashley Steele


Edina Bakija

Ashley Cain

Marco Castaldi

Daniel Cocolla

Alice Diaz

Morgan Finn

Reid Jeanson

John Kania

Barbara Krill

Janet Lam

Edward Lee

Tracy Mitchell

Ryan Murray

Michelle Nelson

Ian O’Sullivan

Brianna Pasqualicchio

Stefanie Perez

Meghan Roy

Anna Serafini

Mark Tardiff

Dena Trudeau

Cory White

Doreen Witkiewicz


Patriel Dunford

Jennifer Parke


Brandon Scott


Gary Sasso


John Liseo

East Hartford

Jonathan Searles


Andrea Vitrano


Erin Kretock

New Hartford

Lisa Angerami

Louise Korner

New Haven

Toni Bittle

New Britain

Samara Berrios

Vega Dalysha

Vanessa Flores

Brandon Haas

Kenneth Haas

Pantoja Ivonne

Stopyra Klaudia

Shelly Love

Malgorzata Luczynska

Beverly Weatherby


Thomas Chasse

Carlos Gonzalez

Christopher Hebbe

Paulo Nunes

Diana Smith


Monica Casey

George Hairston

Sherry Mallon

Justin McGuire

Amelinda Picard


Lea Cote

Kevin Luba


Jessica Cousino


Deborah Sullivan


Andrew Lechnow

Thien Tuong Nguyen

Monica Tasak


Sarah Cesarski

Katherine Cocca

Jonathan Denski


April Raymond

Lisa Sgamboti

West Hartford

Gang Fan

Ramona Gudelska

Anisa Jibrell


Lauren Bigger

Activities of over 20 honor societies, student clubs and organizations at Tunxis Community College give students a chance to grow outside the classroom. The College, which offers over 60 credit programs and a wide array of continuing education options, serves over 9,000 students each semester.  For more information on Tunxis, please call 860.773.1300, or visit the website at www.tunxis.edu.









Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!