June 5, 2014 James Revillini

This item was published more than 1 year ago. For a current list of press releases, visit News Archives .

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Tunxis Community College in Farmington announced the names of those students who accepted membership in the honor society. They were formally recognized in May at an induction ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is recognized by the American Association of Community and Junior Colleges as the official honor fraternity of two-year colleges. To achieve eligibility for PTK, a student must complete at least 12 hours of associate’s degree course work and earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Throughout their enrollment, they must maintain high academic standing, generally a 3.25 GPA. About 100,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa each year.

The PTK chapter at Tunxis provides opportunities for leadership, college and community service, exchange of ideas and ideals, scholarly fellowship, and academic excellence.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters in each of the 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates and Palau.

The new members of PTK, listed by towns of residence are:


Monica Khersonsky

Barbara Paine


Rebecca Lunt


Chiara Boibeaux

Erin Caruso

Heather Correa

Christina Cyr

Matthew Diblase-Daley

Adam Hayes

Richard Hoffman

Chantel Johansen

Ericka Lowell

Kendra Roy

Ellen Stockman

Angela Marie Volpicella

Wieslawa Warszawik


Taylor Bettcher

Victor Neves


Brianna James


Ashley Bowman

Michael McMinn


Shannon Emilia


Julie Cardenas

Volha Kavalenka


Lyz Meza-Villantoy

New Britain

Briar Holyst

Brittany Larese

John Oliver

Jesse Pastore

Israel Rosario

Julie Szczesniak

Paul Thibodeau

Urszula Tondos

Paula Zalewska


Melissa Bengston

Antu Stettler


Billie-Jo Sauvron

Zachary Scholl


Christopher Moccio


Penny Barbour

Kaitlin Koczon

Sara Popielarczyk


Zidane El-Alaoui

West Hartford

Doreen Atkins

Augusta Kovaleski

Malaya Mount

Miriam Ostrozynski


Talitha Kuttler


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!